Posted by: Jan | June 9, 2010

Sleeping Well is What it’s All About

Boy I’m having some good nights of sleep!  I’m not sure if it’s the brand spanking new nasal pillows or the higher pressure ceiling I have now, but I am sleeping through the night and waking with that incredible “floaty” feeling again. 

I am alternating one set of new nasal pillows and my “old” ones that are about 3 weeks old in terms of use.  The new ones don’t seem to do that little leak up into my right eye like the “old” ones.  When I wear the old pillows, I can almost picture this annoying leak, like the cigarette smoke from my mom’s cigarettes, making its leisurely, curly way up my facial contours and right into my eye.  I feel this little trickle of cold air, so I know it’s there.  When I wake up in the morning, my right eye is often swollen half shut and leaky.  But I’m still sleeping pretty good—no 4:30 a.m. wake up calls this week.

When I went to the sleep lab last Friday the RT decided to push my top pressure up to 15, because at 13, the graphs showed that I was “bumping the ceiling” pretty consistently.  My numbers were fine, but it may be making a difference.  My 90% pressures have gone up on average from 11.6 or 11.8 to 12.2, and I seem to be sleeping really well.  Maybe when I hit that threshold it was waking me or causing my body to panic before, although the numbers didn’t show any problems. 

The best part now is waking up—it’s like taking the best recreational drug out there (not that I would know ;o).  I wake up before I have to, usually when my husband gets up to do his morning workout (an uncivilized 5:30 a.m.). Sometimes I drift back to sleep until a little after 6.  Before CPAP, I slept like the dead in those last few morning hours, and when my alarm went off at 6:45 it was always a shock. 

 I lie there, feeling the cool, gentle flow of air in my nose, and feeling utterly and completely . . . comfortable.  Even the sound of the mask is muted—I can always hear the airflow at night when I go to bed, but I have to strain to hear it in the morning (why???).  It feels so GOOD.  I like lying there savoring the feeling.  I know once I start moving around I’m likely to have leaks or hose issues, so I just lie there for a time, until I get restless and decide it’s time to get up–always before my alarm these days.  I would probably get up even earlier, but I have to wait my turn in the shower, so there’s no point in getting out of bed. 

 This is what it’s all about, folks.  That incredible feeling when I first wake is what keeps me coming back for more. I’m 100% compliant with CPAP and this is why.  Good mask, good settings, good machine. 

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz . . .

Responses

  1. Ahh, if only! I haven’t gotten there yet. I got a new Hybrid mask yesterday, I’m hoping that’s going to be the one for me to get this feeling. If not, I’ll try something else.

  2. I hope the hybrid works for you, Donna. If not, keep trying!

  3. You make me want to put on my mask right now, but I’m at work! I tell people my mask is like my favorite pillow. Thanks for the blog!

    • Thanks Jeremy. Wishing you great nights!


Leave a Reply

Categories

